Street Photographer view of Road America

For years my wife and I travelled to Road America, in Elkhart Lake, WI, during July, to watch her dad, Bob Wismer, race his vintage Triumph TR-4 and Tornado Thunderbolt on the historic track. The race weekends were celebrated much the same way other families come together for Thanksgiving. Truth be told, family attendance for Bob’s July race rivaled only Christmas for family attendance. Unfortunately that family tradition came to an end after Bob raced his last race ever in July 2013 at Road America, a month before being diagnosed with stage 4 lung cancer.

Long before Bob started racing his own car, the Wismer family attended races at Road America. Many of my wife’s favorite childhood memories revolve around those family trips to Elkhart Lake. She and her siblings got to watch some of the kings of racing in the late 60’s and 70’s from their blanket on the hill at Corner 5. So the return of IndyCar to Road America, for the first time since 2007, offered some of us an opportunity to start a new/old tradition in the wake of Bob’s passing in 2014.

During Bob’s race weekends I documented the event much the same way I would tell the story for work. But for the new tradition I wanted to take a new visual approach. I brought some DSLR gear to shoot the race but my visual focus, for the Kohler Grand Prix weekend, was to make ‘street photography’ style pictures with my iPhone 6 and the Hipstamatic app. The unique road track and the diverse crowd offered me a target rich environment to stretch myself visually. The following is a collection of my favorite ‘street style’ shots from the race weekend.

Leave a Reply

