A sensory vacation

NatureDay01_024A

Day 1: Morning dew in our neighbor’s front yard

One of the keys to being a good photographer is having a never-ending curiosity.

If you lack curiosity you will perish. Obviously, this is a mantra extends far beyond the world of photography but you get my point. If you only see images as they present themselves on the surface, your work will become stale and uninteresting. You need to challenge yourself everyday to be better, look deeper and get out of your comfort zone.

You never know when a visual challenge is going to come your way. I certainly didn’t expect to have one tossed at me while I was off work for a week. So when my friend, and fellow photographer Joe Murphy, tagged me in one of those Facebook ‘Photo A Day’ challenges last week I decided to push all my cards on to the table and try hard to make really good images. The subject of the challenge was “nature.” My only problem seemed to be that I was on a “stay-cation” doing nothing but lawn work, home repairs, running my dogs to the vet and working on organizing my photo archive. I had no real plans to get out into “nature”. But since I love a challenge I had to explore the nature around me with a new set of eyes.

From the first image to the last I think I made 8 pretty decent images. The first two are probably the strongest. They also got the biggest reactions on social media for whatever that is worth.

As part of the challenge I had to nominate another person to do the challenge each day I posted a photo. I ended up picking a nice of mix of professional and amateur  photographers/nature lovers. The end result was two weeks of wonderful and relaxing images filling my Facebook feed.  For some reason I didn’t see that consequence coming, so it was a very pleasant surprise.  And now that the flow of images is starting to slow to a trickle, my feed is back to memes and  angry posts about the President.

Who knew that a  random photo-challenge on Facebook would result in a sensory vacation for my soul? Thanks Joe.

 

Day 2: Rainy afternoon.

Day 2: Rainy afternoon.

NatureDay03_100A-2

Day 3: Fallen blossom in morning light.

NatureDay03_267

Day 4: ‘Interloper’.

NatureDay06_463A

Day 5: Actually this isn’t the photo I posted of my dog Ivy, but it’s from the same time period. Upon further review I like it better.

NatureDay06_147

Day 6: “Take-off”

NatureDay06_285A

Day 7: Colorful blooms

FullSizeRender

Day 8: Even though I am off the hook for anymore Nature Photos. On Day 8 couldn’t resist the contrast this morning on our deck. Someday we will get a new deck but until then I will enjoy the aging wood below my feet while I sip my coffee.

Leave a Reply

